National Safety Council - Nebraska Chapter works each year to educate the community on the dangers associated with fireworks.
The safest policy is to leave the fireworks shows to the professionals. However, those wishing to light fireworks need to follow Nebraska law and city ordinances. Additionally, safety measures should be taken to reduce the risk of injuries.
Fireworks by the numbers
- Of the nine U.S. deaths, six were associated with firework misuse, one death was associated with a mortar launch malfunction, and two incidents were associated with unknown circumstances.
- There were an estimated 11,500 emergency room-treated injuries involving fireworks in 2021
- An estimated 8,500 fireworks-related injuries (or 74 percent of the total estimated fireworks-related injuries in 2021) occurred during the 1-month special study period between June 18 and July 18 last year.
- Young adults 20 to 24 years of age had the highest estimated rate of emergency department-treated, fireworks-related injuries in 2021.
- In 2021, there were an estimated 1,500 emergency department-treated injuries associated with firecrackers and 1,100 involving sparklers.
- In 2021, the parts of the body most often injured by fireworks were hands and fingers (an estimated 31 percent of injuries) along with head, face, and ears (an estimated 21 percent).
- About 32 percent of the emergency department-treated fireworks-related injuries in 2021 were for burns.
- In 2021, approximately 31 percent of selected and tested fireworks products were found to contain noncompliant components, including fuse violations, the presence of prohibited chemicals and pyrotechnic materials overload.
- Source: Consumer Product Safety Commission
MORE INFORMATION FROM CPSC
Nebraska State Law
State law only allows for fireworks to be sold between June 24 and July 5 or between December 28 and January 1. Local jurisdictions have the authority to be more restrictive. Always check with your local jurisdiction to find out what restrictions, if any, they may have on the dates fireworks may be sold.
A variety of fireworks may be sold across Nebraska; however, there are some restrictions. Fireworks sold at Nebraska stands must be legal in Nebraska. It is against the law to transport illegal fireworks into the state. For a full list of illegal fireworks, visit Nebraska State Fire Marshal site.
Consumer fireworks may only be possessed, used or discharged by a person 16 years of age or older; provided, that a person 12 years of age or older and less than 16 years of age may possess, use or discharge consumer fireworks, but only when in the immediate presence of and under the direct supervision of an adult 19 years of age or older.
Although the above are general rules on when fireworks are allowed, local jurisdictions can be more restrictive.
Fireworks can be sold in the City of Omaha from June 28th through July 4th each year ONLY with a city issued permit.
Fireworks in Omaha city limits are legally allowed to be fired by residents from 12 p.m. noon to 11 p.m. July 2nd through July 4th and over the New Year’s holiday, from 5 p.m. on New Year’s Eve until 1 a.m. on New Year’s Day.
Source: Omaha Municipal Code
In Papillion, consumer fireworks may not be sold at retail or discharged except from June 25 through July 4 and only during the hours of 8 a.m. through 10 p.m. except that on July 4 consumer fireworks may be discharged and sold from 8 a.m. through 11:59 p.m. of each year. Consumer fireworks may also be sold at retail or discharged from December 29 through December 31 and only during the hours of 8 a.m. through 10 p.m. except that on December 31 consumer fireworks may be discharged and sold from 8 a.m. through 11:59 p.m. of each year.
La Vista residents may use fireworks between 7 a.m. and 10 p.m. June 25th through July 2nd. On July 3rd and 4th, fireworks may be discharged 7 a.m. to 11 p.m.
Unless first expressly approved by the city council it shall be unlawful to sell or discharge fireworks in this city except between:
- 8:00am to 10:00pm on any day from June 25 through July 3
- 8:00am to 12 midnight on July 4 and
- 9:00pm on December 31 to 12:30am on January 1
Permissible fireworks may not be discharged except from June 25 through July 5 and December 29 through January 1 and only during the hours of 8:00 a.m. through 10:00 p.m., except that on July 4 and December 31, permissible fireworks may be discharged from 8:00 a.m. through 12:00 midnight.
Fireworks can only be sold and discharged in Lincoln from 8 a.m. - 11 p.m. on July 3 and from 8 a.m. - 11:59 p.m. on July 4.
Permissible fireworks may be sold or offered for sale in the City of Grand Island on June 28 through and including July 4 of each year. Permissible fireworks may only be sold during the following times: June 28 through July 4
Grand Island City Code allows fireworks to be discharged only on the following dates and times: June 28 through July 2 – 8:00 a.m. to 10:00 p.m., July 3 – 8:00 a.m. to 11:00 p.m., July 4 – 8:00 a.m. to midnight
Fireworks discharge is only permitted in the city from June 25- July 3 8am to 11pm and July 4 8 am to 12am midnight; December 29 to December 30 8 am to 12 am midnight and December 31 8 am to January 1 1am.
Fireworks are allowed to be ignited during the following dates and times in the City of Norfolk:
June 25 - July 3 8 a.m.-11:00 p.m.
July 4 8:00-12:00 a.m.
Consumer fireworks may be sold at retail only between June 25 at 12:01 a.m. and July 4 at 11:59 p.m., and December 29 at 12:01 a.m. and December 31 at 11:59 p.m. each year and may be discharged only between 8:00 a.m. and 10:00 p.m. June 25 through July 3, and 8:00 a.m. through 11:59 p.m. July 4, and between 4:30 p.m. December 31 and 12:30 a.m. January 1.