Laws

Nebraska Texting Law: No person shall use a handheld wireless communication device to read a written communication, manually type a written communication, or send a written communication while operating a motor vehicle which is in motion. Fines range form $200-$500 and three points against a driver’s license. Driving means operating a commercial motor vehicle, with the motor running, including while temporarily stationary because of traffic, a traffic control device(such as a stoplight), or other momentary delays. Texting means manually entering alphanumeric text into, or reading text from, an electronic device. Texting includes, but is not limited to, short message service, emailing, instant messaging, a command or request to access an Internet web page, pressing more than a single button to initiate or terminate a voice communication using a mobile telephone, or engaging in any other form of electronic text retrieval or electronic text entry for present or future communication.

Nebraska Novice Driver Law: The holder of an LPE, SCP, LPD or POP shall not use any type of interactive wireless communication device while operating a motor vehicle.  Interactive wireless communication device means any wireless electronic communication between two or more parties, including, but not limited to, a mobile or cellular phone, a text messaging device, a personal digital assistant that sends or receives messages, an audio-video player that sends or receives messages, or a laptop computer

Cell Phone Use Best Practice: No driver should use a cell phone while driving. This includes reading, writing or sending text or electronic messages, surfing the web, talking on a handsfree or hand held device and voice to text. All drivers should turn off cell phones while operating a motor vehicle.

The Insurance Institute for Highway Safety provides state law information in an easy-to-read map format.

state_law_maps.JPG