Community Safety Champions

PACE Group.JPGTo succeed in eliminating preventable injuries and fatalities, the National Safety Council, Nebraska encourages individuals and organizations to engage themselves in education and programs for the prevention of unintentional injuries and the safety of others, individually or as groups. It takes everyone's efforts to promote safe living in our homes and communities.

Awards are presented at the Celebration of Safety Luncheon

Community Safety Champions awards are open to all those who are contributing to the safety of Nebraskans. Nominations are made by members of the community and judged by NSCN staff and committee members. Recipients will be awarded a trophy and organization recognition at the annual Celebration of Safety Luncheon and on the National Safety Council, Nebraska website.

To nominate an individual, organization or company, please complete the form below. 

Service to Community Safety Award

Established in 1964, this award was developed to encourage effective action in community safety by a not-for-profit organization. This award is open to nominations from across Nebraska.

  • 2023 Bobby Byars Foundation
  • 2019 United Support and Memorial for Workplace Fatalities (USMWF)
  • 2018 Police Athletics for Community Engagement (PACE)
  • 2017 Outlook Nebraska, Inc.
  • 2016 Project Harmony
  • 2015 Tom Everson, Keep Kids Alive, Drive 25 
  • 2014 Tai Chi for Balance
  • 2013 Nebraska State Athletic Trainers' Association
  • 2012 Visiting Nurse Association
  • 2011 Community Bike Project Omaha
  • 2010 OPD - Project Night Life and C.A.R. Alliance for Safer Teen Driving
  • 2009: Omaha Coalition of Citizen Patrols (OCCP) Rapid Response Team
  • 2009: Lutheran Family Services of Nebraska-
  • 2008: YMCA of Greater Omaha Aquatics Program and Staff
  • 2007: Domestic Violence Coordinating Council
  • 2006: Project Cherish - Immanuel Health Systems
  • 2005: Sen. Lowen and Ruth Kruse and Mike and Roselyn Cappiello with MADD
  • 2004: Douglas County Sheriff's Office Reserve Deputy Unit
  • 2003: Bellevue Police Department's Community Policing Unit
  • 2002: Safe Futures Consortium - Mary Lopez and Thomas C. Monaghan
  • 2001: Project Extra Mile
  • 2000: Camp Fire Boys and Girls
  • 1999: Omaha Community Partnership
  • 1998: Assistance League of Omaha
  • 1997: Crimestoppers
  • 1996: Omaha Neighborhood Courage
  • 1995: Friends of the Mounted Patrol - Omaha Police Department
Safety Council Public Servant Award

Inspired by former Omaha Mayor Bernie Simon, this award recognizes a public servant who demonstrates outstanding leadership on or off the job for the safety and health of individuals and/or the community.

  • 2023 Kevin Chase, Retired Nebraska State Patrol Trooper - Community Service Officer
  • 2023 Bruce Okamoto, Retired Nebraska State Patrol Trooper - Community Service Officer
  • 2019 Douglas County 911
  • 2018 Rose White, AAA
  • 2017 Omaha Fire Department, Captain Chris Langlois
  • 2016 LaVista Police Officers, Steve Walter & TJ Jacik
  • 2015 Captain Kevin Griger, Sarpy County Sherrifs Department
  • 2014 Jason Menning, OPD Project Night Life
  • 2013 Erin Dumont, Omaha Police Department
  • 2012 John Sing, Boys Town Fire Department, Boys Town, NE
  • 2012 Kevin Stukenholtz, Saunders County, NE
  • 2011 Metro Motorist Assist Patrol
  • 2010 Plattsmouth Fire Chief Mike Wilson
  • 2009: Stacy Henry, Omaha Police Department
  • 2008: Lt. Russ Zeeb, Sarpy County Sheriff’s Office
  • 2007: Assistant Fire Marshall Pio Porta
  • 2006: Officers Lowell Petersen and Mark Hanner,Omaha Police Department
  • 2005: Lt. Tim Conahan, Omaha Police Dept., Chief Tim Dempsey, Elkhorn Police Dept.
  • 2004: Firefighter Laura Weaver, Omaha Fire and Rescue
  • 2003: Battalion Chief Brian Sorensen, Omaha Fire and Rescue
  • 2002: Captain Herb Evers, Bellevue Police Department
  • 2001: Captain Mark Sundermeier, Omaha Police Department
  • 2000: Battalion Chief Joel Sacks, Omaha Fire and Rescue
  • 1999: Judy Johns, Director, Omaha Police Community Resource Center
  • 1998: Jim Wilson, Sr.
  • 1997: Fred Zwonecek, Administrator, Nebraska Office of Highway Safety
  • 1996: Dick Shea, C.A.R.E. Program
  • 1995: Troop A - Nebraska State Patrol
Lorraine Giles School Safety Award

The Lorraine Giles School Safety Award was established in 1999 in honor of the former school principal and safety champion, Lorraine Giles, a longtime board member of the National Safety Council, Nebraska.  This award recognizes outstanding leadership in the area of school safety, the school’s students and a commitment to the community

  • 2019 Joni & Dr. Mark Adler, Ralston Public Schools and Dr. Jim Sutfin, Millard Public Schools
  • 2017 Papillion LaVista School District
  • 2016 Elkhorn School District
  • 2015 Marian High School
  • 2014 AAA School Safety Patrol Program
  • 2013 Hall County STARS Project
  • 2012 Employee Speakers Bureau, Metropolitan Utilities District
  • 2011 OPD Middle School Resource Officers' Cops and Kids program
  • 2010 Bere's Child Care Centers HALO
  • 2009: Linda Frey
  • 2008: Edward Bickels
  • 2005: R.E.S.P.E.C.T. 2
  • 2004: Officer James Pauly, Omaha Police Department
  • 2003: Millard School District - Suicide Prevention Program
  • 2002: "A Better Future Today" Peer Speakers, Millard South High School
  • 2001: Bret Anderson, Principal, Indian Hill Academy
  • 2000: School Resource Officer Program
  • 1999: Leon Haith, Assistant Principal, Millard West High School
Other Past Award Recipients

Metropolitan Utilities District Safety Off-The-Job and Wellness Award

Injuries in the home and community are growing at a phenomenal rate. These injuries have an impact on business. The wellness of an individual, including the risk of injury, also has an impact on their company. This award recognizes a company that has implemented and sustained programs to educate and encourage their employees and employee families in both wellness and off-the-job safety measures.

  • 2015 Immanuel
  • 2014 Warren Distribution
  • 2013 Papio-Missouri River Natural Resources District
  • 2010 55th Wing, Offutt Air Force Base 

Safe Communities Award

This award recognizes collaborations with numerous organizations addressing safety and the safety risks in their community. National Safety Council, Nebraska has worked hard to earn a Safe Community America designation in Greater Omaha due to the collaborative efforts of many organizations. This award encourages that collaboration in other communities across the state.

  • 2014 Safe Communities for Custer County
  • 2013 Jefferson County Farm Safety 4 Just Kids, Fairbury, NE
  • 2012 Safe Communities Coalition, Phelps County, NE
  • 2011 Seven Oaks of Florence and Creighton University School of Pharmacy and Health Professions OISSE
  • 2010 Omaha Healthy Kids Alliance
  • 2009: City of LaVista